Child Porn Penalties: What Sex Offenders Are Up Against in Texas
Posted by Phil Press Institute on 7th March 2016
| 13 views

Child PornographyAccording to the Texas Penal Code, an individual has committed child pornography possession if she or he deliberately and consciously possessed visual material depicting a child below 18 years old engaging in a sexual manner.

Dntriallaw.com’s sex offender lawyers say it’s likewise a crime to take pictures, record, and send or broadcast any visual material of a child without the child’s consent and with the intention to sexually satisfy or arouse another individual. In addition, an individual could be charged child sexual performance in the event that he or she influences, authorizes, and uses a child to engage in sex acts or performances.

Child Pornography Penalties Under the Texas Penal Code

Basically, “possession of child pornography” is categorized as a third degree felony and is punishable by two to 10 years in prison and/or a fine reaching $10,000. The charge and penalties will increase based on the child porn possessed by the accused. If the accused possesses child porn with more than six identical images, the charge could be elevated to promoting child porn, which is a second degree felony. The punishment for this is two to 20 years in prison and/or a $10,000 fine.

Taking pornographic photos and videos of a child, on the other hand, is a state jail felony that carries penalties of 180 days up to two years in jail and/or a $10,000 fine. “Child sexual performance” is a second degree felony and is penalized by two to 20 years in prison and/or a fine not more than $10,000. This could be elevated to a first degree felony in the event that the child was below 14 years old. The punishment is five to life imprisonment and/or a $10,000 fine.

Fighting a child pornography charge is an extremely challenging feat that will alter the course of your life forever. Know that you’ll be facing a long and tough battle, so make sure your rights will be represented.